Branches are great to work independently and showing your work to your teammates, but keeping it separate from the master branch until the work is actually ready. To create a branch, click on the “Branches” tab and then on “New Branch” button at the top of the window.

You’ll be prompted to type in the branch’s name and from what branch to create it, in this case from master. Click on “Create”.

Once the branch is created, you’ll be automatically switched to it. 

Now you can continue working on your designs in a new branch and push them to the remote branch in the same way as you’ve done before.

Once your work on the branch is done and ready to be included in the main source of truth, you can merge it into master, so now the master branch will include the changes made on your individual branch.

Make sure that before merging your branch into the master branch, you click on “Pull from Master” to get all the latest changes before pushing your changes.

When you’re ready to “Merge into Master” you’ll be taken to this screen to do a final review of the branch you’re going to merge.

Click on “Merge branches”. Done! Now you can switch to the Master branch to check that the changes in your branch are now in master. Click on the master branch and then on “Use branch”.

From master you can use your individual branch again, merge, pull or delete that branch if you’re not going to need it anymore. Whatever is most convenient to your team’s workflow.

Beware of stashed changes!

Currently, your local changes are automatically stashed when you switch branches.

If you want to merge your branch into master but have uncommitted changes in the master branch, you’ll see an alert like this:

Depending on your use case, you can push or discard those changes.

Did this answer your question?