Branches are great to work independently and showing your work to your teammates, but keeping it separate from the master branch until the work is actually ready. To create a branch, click on the “Branches” tab and then on “New Branch” button at the top of the left menu.

You’ll be prompted to type in the branch’s name and from what branch to create it, it's Master by default. Click on “Create”.

Once the branch is created, you’ll be automatically switched to it. 

Now you can continue working on your designs in a new branch and push them to the remote branch in the same way as you’ve done before.

Once your work on the branch is done and ready to be included in the main source of truth, you can merge it into master, so now the master branch will include the changes made on your individual branch.

New project history screen 

You can look through a branch's history without switching to it. Just choose a branch and the history appears. 

We've added a context menu for branches. 

Important: you can't delete the current branch. 

The current branch is the active branch at that moment. 

To switch to a branch, you should choose the branch and click the "switch" button

We've changed the sequence of merging branches. 

From time to time, team members merge their changes into Master. And if Master branch is ahead, you should get changes from the Master branch at first. 

It's easy to understand if the Master is ahead. You'll see an "Update from Master" button. 

After getting all the latest changes, the "Merge into Master" button appears. 

Beware of stashed changes!

Currently, your local changes are automatically stashed when you switch branches.

If you want to merge your branch into master but have uncommitted changes in the master branch, you’ll see an alert like this:

Depending on your use case, you can push or discard those changes.

Did this answer your question?