New project history screen 

You can look through the branch's history without switching to it. Just choose a branch and the history appears. 

Creating a branch

Branching is the duplication of an object under version control. With branching, you create a separate copy of your project, work on it and when you're done - merge your work back to the main project automatically.

To create a branch, open the project and click on the “New Branch”  button at the top of the left sidebar.

The creation dialog window appears. There is the option to select the parent of your branch. It's Main by default. 
You also can select the exact color of the branch, add emojis to the name of it, and put the branch in a folder.

Once the branch is created, you’ll be automatically switched to it. 

We've added a context menu for branches. 

Important: you can't delete the current branch. 

The current branch is the active branch at that moment. 

To switch to a branch, you need to choose the branch and click the "switch" button

We've changed the sequence of merging branches. 

From time to time, team members merge their changes into Main. And, if the Main branch is ahead, you should get changes from the Main branch first. 

It's easy to understand if Main is ahead. You will see an "Update from Main" button. 

After getting all the latest changes, the "Merge into Main" button appears. 

Beware of stashed changes!

Currently, if you have uncommitted changes, the application suggests you transfer changes to the other branch or stash them.

If you want to merge your branch into Main but have uncommitted changes in the Main branch, you’ll see an alert like this:


To get the most out of this feature, check out the best practices.

Did this answer your question?