Sympli Versions supports 2 permissions levels: our own Versions level and Git-provider level.

Versions-level permissions

Versions-level access allows you to manage your team and the subscription in Versions. When you add any user to your account, these users will see all your projects on the dashboard. But they will have access (browse and push) to those projects, where they have git-level access.

The following table reflects the different Versions user permission levels.

* After deleting your project the data will be accessible on the provider side, but won't be available in Versions.

Git-level permissions

Git-level access allows users to restrict uploading to the project.

The following table reflects the different user permission levels on the git-provider side (only our own provider Versions).

Combining Versions and git permissions

First, our server checks the Versions user's role, if the user doesn't have access to a project on Versions-level, they will see "seat request" screen. If the user has Versions access, but they don't have git-access, they will see the "git-request" screen.

The availability of settings/access tabs on the project page depends on the Versions user's role first and then on git-level role.

Example 1: you're the git-owner of project A, but the Versions' owner is someone else. You have a Designer role in that account (it's Versions role). It means that you cannot invite other members to this project or delete the project.

Example 2: Versions-admin has a Reporter role (role in git-provider) in project A. it means they can delete it, but they can't upload anything using the Versions app.

All Sympli Versions permissions are available with "Startup" plan.

Read more about Sympli Handoff User Permissions

Did this answer your question?